influencing for a greener tomorrow


Hey all,

https://i1.wp.com/edbatista.typepad.com/edbatista/images/2008/02/Influence_Pyramid.jpgAs i mentioned in my last post i will try to influence one person every week to start (make a change) in one daily activity for a sustainable tomorrow. As i have learnt in the last couple of weeks influencing others to do something is not an easy task.

To help me with this challenge i turned to my marketing classes for help. Now there is a lot one could say about persuasion and influence. Case in point the Persuaders documentary on PBS (click the PBS logo to watch.) A simple google search on persuasion or influence will also reveal a lot of information like the pyramid shown here.

As for me i decided to choose an approach taught to me by my sales professor Dr. T.J. Olney. He uses Influence: Science and Practice (1993) by Robert B. Cialdini (Harper-Collins ISBN 0-673-46751-1) to layout six basic principles that can be used to influence others.

  • Reciprocation
  • Commitment / Consistency
  • Social Proof
  • Liking
  • Authority
  • Scarcity

I have been using a combination of the last four for 3 days now and have successfully motivated one friend to stop purchasing drinks packaged in plastic. This is also my goal and she has agreed to mirror me.

https://i0.wp.com/www.21stcenturymed.org/sad-face.jpgNow for my Sustainable Efforts Update

Unplug: This has become second nature, with my current computer woes i did forget to do this sometimes because not having to shut down my computer also made me forget to turn on the power strip that controls everything else.

Buy Local: With friends visiting and my birthday this was a little harder, i have been eating outside a lot on campus and restaurants without checking for local purchases. 😦 Hopefully this week will be better.

Decline Plastic: This went from my best to worst goal in the last two weeks i have accepted plastic bags, styrofoam containers and everything else. Need to be stricter with myself on this one.

Thanks all for this post, until next time.

namaste

Leave a Reply

